AllCellular Teaches you what to do before you sell, trade, or gift your iPhone or iPad

0

AllCellularIf you follow our daily news feed, you’ve probably noticed that in addition to keeping you up to date with the latest tech news, we’re always trying to add more insight to your daily life by providing easy-to-use tips and tutorials. to. so you can get the most out of your devices and applications.

Following this routine, we will teach you in the following section the necessary steps to take if you intend to sell, gift or exchange your old iPhone or iPad. Without them, the new owner can face serious problems, even being unable to use their new iDevice.

What to do before you sell or give your iPhone or iPad

For those who do not know, linking a user to an Apple device can be seen as a kind of lock of the device. That is, once linked, the iDevice in question cannot be registered with a new ID, even if the factory settings are restored.

Because of this, it is necessary to follow a set of basic instructions before moving the device forward, as otherwise the new user may be in trouble, unable to tie their own data to the device or even unable to use features – or even the entire system – in cases where login information from the former owner is required.

Check out the step-by-step instructions below.

  • Once you have backed up your information, go to the Settings app.
    • If you have an Apple Watch, unpair the watch.
  • Now tap on your name.
    • If you’re on an iDevice running iOS 10.2 or earlier, tap iCloud.
  • Scroll down and tap Sign out.
  • Enter the Apple ID password that is linked to the device and tap Disable.
    • If you’re on iOS 10.2 or earlier, after tapping Sign Out, tap the same option again, select Delete, and enter the linked Apple ID password.
  • Back in Settings, with your session already over, it’s time to erase your device data, leaving it as a new one.
  • To do so, tap General, select Reset, and on the new screen, tap Delete Content and Settings.
    • If you have Search enabled, you will need to enter your Apple ID and password again before confirming the deletion.

If prompted, enter your device passcode and tap Delete.

Okay, you have learned how to unlink your device and now you can pass it on to your new owner! If you are unable to perform the above steps for any reason, contact Apple Support. Do not manually delete your contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photos or any other information from iCloud while you are still active; this will erase the contents of your cloud account from the service and, as a result, from all signed-in devices.

Also, if you’re migrating to a non-Apple device, be sure to unregister with iMessage.

If you no longer have access to your iPhone or iPad

If you have sold or gifted your old iDevice, you no longer have access to it – perhaps because it is in another state or country – and you have not done the steps in the last section, you will need to perform a different set of instructions for the new owner to get use the device properly.

First, ask the new owner to erase all content and adjustments as described in the third block of the above instructions. If you are using iCloud and Search, sign in to iCloud ‘s own site or the Search app on another device, select the sold or gifted iDevice from the list, and click Delete [device]. After deleting, click Remove from the account .

If you can’t do any of the above, change your Apple ID password and remove your Apple Pay linked to credit and debit cards from the iCloud website itself. This will not erase all your information from the old device but will limit access to your cards and prevent the new owner from deleting your iCloud data.

Recommended: Before Halloween! iOS 13.2 with Deep Fusion due out in October

Also, if you are migrating to a non-Apple device, be sure to unregister with iMessage.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here