Instagram (and other social networks) hates to see any of its members go, even if it’s only for a little while. The fact that the app doesn’t even give you the choice to delete your account is evidence of this. The technique requires access to the social network through a mobile or desktop browser.
Note that your profile, images, comments, and likes will be hidden until a fresh login is performed after you deactivate your account. You may only request to be deactivated from the social network once per seven days. You may make your Instagram account private or ban certain users if you merely want to restrict access.
However, if you’d like to temporarily deactivate Instagram, you may do so by following the steps below.
Temporarily deactivate Instagram Account
- Launch Instagram on your mobile device:
In order to access your Instagram account, please visit instagram.com.
- Proceed to the profile editor:
After the website loads, click the “Edit Profile” button underneath your profile picture.
- Deactivate the account:
Scroll down and tap on “Temporarily deactivate my account”;
- Choose a reason and enter the password:
Under “Why are you deactivating your account?”, select one of the reasons listed and then enter the password in the field below;
- Verify the choice:
The last step is to hit the “Temporarily deactivate account” button after entering the password.
More from us: How to disable recommended posts Instagram
Disable or delete?
The most extreme measure is deletion. If you delete your account, everything associated with it will be deleted forever, including images, videos, comments, likes, and follows. But if you change your mind within 30 days, you may always reactivate your account with a fresh login. If you’re dead set on permanently removing your Instagram account, we’ve got a whole walkthrough for you.
But if you need a break, turning off Instagram is your best bet. After all, the request will just cause your profile to be inaccessible to others, and reactivating it is a simple process.